Getting a DUI in North Dakota can have serious repercussions. The average increase in car insurance premiums after an impaired driving conviction in North Dakota is 89% per year. Rates range from a pre-DUI average of $1,264 per year to a post-DUI average of $2,395 per year. You can also face fines, license suspension, and even jail time. If you are a repeat offender, the penalties could be even more severe.
You are considered legally intoxicated in North Dakota if you have a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08. For drivers driving commercial vehicles, this limit is 0.04 and for drivers under the age of 21, it is 0.02. North Dakota also reserves the right to charge drivers with a DUI if their blood alcohol level is below these limits but their driving is impaired. If you received a DUI from North Dakota, you may be wondering how this will affect your auto insurance. Bankrate’s research can help you manage the consequences of a DUI.
DUI Laws in North Dakota
North Dakota’s DUI penalties are serious. With a first offense, for example, there can be a $500 fine if your BAC is below 0.16, and two days in jail and a $750 fine if your BAC is above 0.16. If the BAC is below 0.18, you could also be subject to a 91-day license suspension. If you have a BAC over 0.18, the suspension increases to 180 days. You may also face a substance abuse evaluation.
Second and third offenses over a seven-year period increase both fines and potential jail time. If you hit four or more DUIs in a 15-year period, you could face over a year in jail, a $2,000 fine, two years probation, and more. At this point, your offense is considered a Class C felony, a serious classification that can remain on your criminal record for life.
The cost of DWI in North Dakota may also include participation in the state’s 24/7 sobriety program. This program requires regular testing, at the individual’s expense, for the presence of alcohol. If the individual fails the test, they can be immediately taken into custody and imprisoned.
If you are found to be impaired while a minor child is in your car, even if it is a first offence, you could face up to a year in prison and a fine of $2,000. Refusing to submit to a chemical alcohol test is also a crime and can result in the loss of your driving privileges between 180 days and three years.
Finally, if you are involved in an accident that injures someone else, you could spend up to five years in prison. If someone is killed in a DUI or DWI accident you cause, you can go to jail for up to 20 years.
How a DUI Affects Your Car Insurance in North Dakota
The cost of a DUI in North Dakota goes beyond state penalties; your conviction is also likely to have a serious impact on your car insurance premium. The average increase in auto insurance premiums after an impaired driving conviction in North Dakota and across the country is almost 90%. That means a DUI in North Dakota could nearly double your premium.
Auto insurance rates increase after a DUI because rates are based on risk. Someone with a DUI or DWI has engaged in risky driving behavior and may be more likely to do so again, which can lead to an accident and subsequent insurance claim. To account for the increased risk of loss, auto insurance companies typically raise rates for high-risk drivers.
Instead of an increased premium, your insurer may choose not to renew your policy. Some insurers are simply unwilling to take on the increased risk of a driver with a DUI. You may need to shop around and find a new insurer who is willing to take on your higher level of risk.
Finding Auto Insurance After a DUI in North Dakota
You will likely see a substantial premium increase after a CFA in North Dakota, but you may be able to find more affordable rates. Based on research from Bankrate, Allstate, American Family, Nationwide, and USAA offer some of the most reasonable rates after a North Dakota DUI.
If you’re trying to lower your auto insurance, there are a few things you might want to consider. You can research insurers that offer multiple discounts that you qualify for, as the discounts could significantly lower your rate. You can also think about the type of vehicle you drive, which has a big impact on your premium.
|car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
|At national scale||$2,018|
Frequently Asked Questions
How will a DUI in North Dakota affect my criminal record?
The first through third DUI offenses within seven years in North Dakota are considered misdemeanors, while the fourth and subsequent offenses within 15 years are Class C felonies. These will likely stay on your criminal record. your whole life. As for insurance rates, most companies will charge a surcharge for a DUI for five to seven years after the date of conviction. After this period – which varies by company – you could see a significant reduction in your rates, assuming you’ve been able to maintain a clean driving record from the DUI.
How much auto insurance should I have in North Dakota?
North Dakota requires drivers to have at least the following minimum coverage limits:
- Civil liability of $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- Civil liability of $25,000 in property damage per accident
- $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $50,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $30,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Although these are the minimum requirements to drive legally, you may want to purchase higher limits for better financial protection. You can also add full coverage and collision coverage, which means you buy a full coverage policy. If you have a loan or lease for your vehicle, your financial institution probably requires comprehensive coverage.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates shown are based on a 40-year-old male and female with a clean driving record , good credit and the following complete coverage limits:
- Civil liability of $100,000 in bodily injury per person
- Civil liability of $300,000 in bodily injury per accident
- Civil liability of $50,000 in property damage per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 aggregate deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate has used a minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles a year.
These are sampling rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our baseline profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (baseline), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction, and coverage lapse.